"For the music and the call must be for us."

Another Autumn

11/17/2011 21:01

Well I see it is just over a year since I last wrote in this poor, neglected blog.  I haven't been living in a vacuum, however.  I've been moving forward with my study of herbalism and my little herbal products company, making lovely things and selling them at the local Farmer's Market.  And yes, doing some writing.  I have actually made some progress on my Young Adult fantasy novel, and I'm pretty excited about it.  I've been going to a local writer's group and reading excerpts from the first few chapters for critique, and getting positive feedback, yay!  The prospect of writing something so long and complicated is quite daunting, and sometimes I want to run and hide, but hey, lots of other people have done this, right?  Why not me?  Of course it is becoming very complicated; it seems like everything I set out to do becomes ridiculously complicated.  I don't know why that is.  Nothing can be just simple and straightforward.  The story alternates between the present and events that happened in or around 1930.  There is also a prologue that happens in London during the plague of 1665.  That one took a bit of research, but was really interesting to write.  I was going to do National Novel Writers Month this month, but too much herbal stuff was going on, so the writing has fallen by the wayside.  I am looking forward to winter so I can withdraw from the outside world and explore the realms of make believe.

Search site

Contact