"For the music and the call must be for us."

Well, this is embarrassing

03/26/2010 23:59

I knew it had been a while since I came in here and updated this blog, but I didn't realize it had been THAT long!  So, what do I have to show for all this time?  I just published article number 21 on Suite 101 today.  I am a bit behind my goal of 10 articles a month, but I may still reach 50 by the end of June, which is what I was originally aiming for.  I finally reached my first $10 payout at the first of March.  Everyone says don't expect to earn any money until you get 20 or 30 or 50 or 100 (depending on who is doing the talking) articles up.  It is a slow process.  They were certainly right!  I am really not doing it for money, but writing articles that I interest me, and that I hope others might be interested in, as well. 

 

I have cut way back on the number of articles I'm writing for Bright Hub, not necessarily by choice, but their site reorganization has changed things so drastically that it isn't the same anymore and I am only writing about 2 or 3 a month now.  That's fine, everything changes. 

 

What I need to do is get back to the fiction!  The fiction!!  The fiction!!!  What is stopping me?  I don't know.  It's almost as though I have writer's block, which I've never experienced before.  But I can't very well say I have writer's block if I don't actually sit down and try to write anything.  It seems there's always something taking precedent.  If it's not articles, it's something else.  I've been sending out my two finished stories and trying to get them published.  I sent one out yesterday to a non-paying market.  It just got rejected from a paying market, and it is a fairytale, so there are very few options for finding a happy home for it.  I just want it published at this point; I want people to read it, and whether I get paid for it or not is irrelevant. 

 

Well, then.  Here's hoping by the next update I will have something good to say for myself! 

Search site

Contact